Coverage

Five hundred cities will be taken up under AMRUT. The list of cities will be notified at the appropriate time. The category of cities that will be covered in the AMRUT is given below:

- i. All Cities and Towns with a population of over one lakh with notified Municipalities, including Cantonment Boards (Civilian areas),
- ii. All Capital Cities/Towns of States/ UTs, not covered in above,
- iii. All Cities/ Towns classified as Heritage Cities by MoUD under the HRIDAY Scheme,
- iv. Thirteen Cities and Towns on the stem of the main rivers with a population above 75,000 and less than 1 lakh, and
- v. Ten Cities from hill states, islands and tourist destinations (not more than one from each State).